Sports Tidings

ICC Women T20 World Cup: Australia the most Four-time Champion, India Never Reached the Final

Spread the love

The seventh season of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup begins in Australia on 21 February. The final match of the tournament will be played on 8 March 2020. England became the first world winner to host the first World Cup in 2009.

Australian women won the World Cup for three consecutive times in 2010, 2012 and 2014. This winning chariot was stopped by the West Indies in 2016 when the Kangaroos were beaten by the team in the final of the tournament on Indian soil. But once again in 2018, Australia managed to win the trophy.

The Indian team, which could not win a single World Cup, would like that the World Cup led by captain Harmanpreet Kaur will come to the country. 10 practice matches will be played from February 15 to 20 before the tournament’s main match begins. Each team will get a chance to play two matches.

The first World Cup match will be played on 21 February in Sydney between hosts Australia and the Indian women’s team. Recently, a tri-series was played between Australia, England and India as well, this experience will surely benefit Harpreet’s team.

Indian Team Schedule:

This time, India, Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh have teams in Group A of the World Cup, while England, South Africa, Pakistan, Thailand, and West Indies are in the other group. Indian women will clash with Bangladesh in their second match after playing the inaugural World Cup match against Australia.

The third match will be from New Zealand on 27 February. After this, the Sri Lankan team will take on the Indian team on 29 February. The semi-finals will be held in Sydney on March 5, while the final of the tournament will be on Sunday, March 8, on the occasion of World Women’s Day.


The squad of Indian Team:

Tania Bhatia (wicketkeeper), Harleen Deol, Rajeshwari Gaikwad, Richa Ghosh, Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Veda Krishnamurthy, Smriti Mandhana, Shikha Pandey, Arundhati Reddy, Jemima Rodriguez, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Shefali Verma, Poonam Yadav,

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Notify of