Sports Tidings

NZ VS IND: Team India Clean Sweep the Five Matches T20I Series by 5-0, 5th Match Win by 7 Run

Spread the love

India defeated New Zealand by 7 runs in the last match of the five-match T20 series played at Mount Maunganui. With this, India cleared New Zealand 5-0. Team India, batting first after winning the toss in the fifth T20 match played at Mount Maunganui, scored 163 runs after losing 3 wickets in 20 overs and gave New Zealand a target of 164 runs to win.

In response, New Zealand’s team was able to score 156 runs after losing 9 wickets in 20 overs and India won the match. For the first time, a five-match T20 series was played, in which India created history by winning all the matches of the series.

With this, Team India did wonders in the history of T20 International and became the first team to win 5–0 in the bilateral T20 series.

Three formats: First team to win 5–0

Test: Australia vs England (1921)

One Day International: West Indies against India (1983)

T20 International: India against New Zealand (2020)

For the first time, India has won the bilateral T20 International series against Kiwis on New Zealand soil. India could not win the bilateral T20 International series on New Zealand soil earlier. India played the first bilateral T20 International series against Kiwis on New Zealand soil in 2008-2009.

In this two-match T20 series, India had to face a 0–2 defeat. After this, India was defeated 2–1 by New Zealand in the T20 International Series played in 2018-2019. With this, India has won the bilateral T20 International series on New Zealand soil for the first time in 11 years.

The New Zealand team could only manage 156 runs despite the fifties of Ross Taylor (53) and Tim Seifert (50). Jasprit Bumrah took three wickets from India, while Shardul Thakur and Navdeep Saini took two wickets each.

Now a three-match ODI series will be played between the two teams, which will start on Wednesday 5 February. Jasprit Bumrah, who took three wickets for 12 runs, received the ‘Man of the Match’ award. KL Rahul, who scored the highest 224 runs in the T20 International series, received the ‘Man of the Series’ award.

 Team India’s record in New Zealand (T20 International Series)

1. India vs New Zealand – 2 matches T20 International Series (2008-2009) – New Zealand won 2-0

2. India vs New Zealand – 3 matches T20 International Series (2018-2019) – New Zealand won 2-1

3. India vs New Zealand – 5 match T20 International Series (2019-2020) – India won 5-0

India Gave New Zealand a Target of 164 Runs

Coming to bat first, Team India scored 163 runs losing 3 wickets in 20 overs and gave New Zealand a target of 164 runs to win. For India, Captain Rohit Sharma scored a 60-run knock before returning to the pavilion. Apart from this, KL Rahul contributed 45 runs and Shreyas Iyer scored 33 not out.

Manish Pandey remained unbeaten on 11 runs with the help of four and a six off four balls. With this innings, Rohit completed the score of 50 or more 25 times in T20 International matches. He has overtaken Virat Kohli (24). Kohli has scored half-centuries in T20 International 24 times. His name, however, does not have a single century. Scott Kuggelain took two wickets and Hamish Bennett took one wicket from New Zealand.

In this match for Team India too, the opening pair of Sanju Samson and KL Rahul descended to start the innings. But Sanju Samson got out after scoring only 2 runs. Scott Kuggelen was caught by Mitchell Santner after Sanju Samson returned to the dressing room.

After this, KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma partnered 88 runs together. In the 12th over, Hamish Bennett made KL Rahul his victim. On the ball of Bennett, Rahul Mitchell was caught by Santner and was dismissed after scoring 45 runs.

In the 17th over, Rohit Sharma got retired due to a hamstring injury to the calf. Rohit Sharma scored 60 runs in 41 balls. Rohit’s innings included 3 fours and 3 sixes. After Rohit returned, India scored only 25 runs from the last 20 balls. These included the last over of Saudi (52 runs over four) in which Manish Pandey (11 not out off four balls) hit a six and a four.

In the 19th over, Shivam Dubey (5) was caught by Scott Kuggelain at the hands of Tom Bruce and returned to the dressing room. Iyer had hit sixes against Saudi and Mitchell Santner when he stepped to the crease in the 12th over, but he could not show the expected pace in the death overs. After this, however, Iyer and Pandey did not allow any further damage.

Indian Batting Highlights:

India won the toss and decided to bat first and bowled to New Zealand first. There was a change in the playing XI of Team India in this match. After rest in the last match, Rohit Sharma returned for the fifth T20 and regular captain Virat Kohli decided to rest in this match. Rohit Sharma took over the command of Team India in place of Virat Kohli. There is no change in the playing eleven of New Zealand.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Notify of