Sports Tidings

Women’s T20 World Cup: India’s Fourth Consecutive Win, Beat Sri Lanka by 7 Wickets

Spread the love

Women’s T20 World Cup: India’s Fourth Consecutive Win, beat Sri Lanka by 7 wickets

India defeated Sri Lanka by 7 wickets in the Group A match of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup on Saturday. With this, India has registered a fourth consecutive victory in this tournament. India has already made it to the semi-finals.

After defeating Sri Lanka, India won all the matches of their group and secured a top spot in the points table. The Indian women’s team is still unbeaten in the 2020 T20 World Cup tournament, beating Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand and Sri Lanka in group matches.

In this match, India first stopped Sri Lanka on a modest score of 113 runs for 9 wickets. Then he lost the target by losing 3 wickets in response. India won by scoring 116 runs for three wickets in 14.4 overs. For India, Shefali Verma scored the most innings of 47 runs. Smriti Mandhana scored 17 runs. Apart from this, Captain Harmanpreet Kaur, Jemimah Rodriguez and Deepti Sharma scored 15-15 runs. India won all four of their matches in the group stage and thus scored eight points. Now the Indian team will enter the semi-finals with increased morale.


Sri Lanka gave India a Target of 114 Runs

Sri Lanka scored 113 for nine in the Group A match of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup against India on Saturday. Captain Chamari Atapattu scored 33 runs for Sri Lanka. For India, Radha Yadav took four wickets for 23 runs.

Spinner Radha Yadav took the best performance of his career, taking four wickets for 23 runs, which allowed India to score 113 runs for nine wickets. Left-arm spinner Radha also took the crucial wicket of Captain Chamari Atapattu, who scored the highest 33 runs for Sri Lanka.


Amazing Radha and Rajeshwari

Radha Yadav also got good support from Rajeshwari Gaikwad (2 for 18). Poonam Yadav, Shikha Pandey and Deepti Sharma took one wicket each. Sri Lanka decided to bat first, but they lost the wicket of opener Umesha Timasini (two) in the third over, which was caught by Rajeshwari off Deepti’s ball.

Captain Atapattu kept an aggressive attitude and hit five fours and a six. He shared a 30-run partnership with Harshita Madavi (12). Rajeshwari dismissed Madavi in ​​the eighth over. Radha came for bowling in the ninth over and was welcomed by the Sri Lankan captain with a six, but on the next ball, she was caught at deep square leg. After this, the Sri Lankan innings fell apart. Sasikala Shrivardhan scored 13 runs while Sri Lanka reached 100 runs with the help of Kavisha Dilhari (25 not out from 16 balls) in the lower order.



India: Hamanpreet Kaur (captain), Shefali Verma, Smriti Mandhana, Tania Bhatia (wicketkeeper), Jemimah Rodriguez, Deepti Sharma, Veda Krishnamurthy, Shikha Pandey, Radha Yadav, Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gaekwad.

Sri Lanka: Chamari Atapattu (captain), Umesh Thimashini, Hasini Perera, Hansima Karunaratne, Sasikala Sirivardhane, Harshita Madavi, Anushka Sanjeevani (wicketkeeper), Nilakshi De Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Satya Sandipani, Udeshika Provodhni.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Notify of